top of page

Harley Davidson Chain Tensor Defect by Ivan Rodriguez

Well Im not the first to talk about this subject and I know I won't be the last, but it is the first I hear of it and it did catch my attention.

So for what I'm reading it appears the chain tensioner in the cam, timing and primary chains all have a "nylon" pad that wears and can cause damage, really bad damage! It also seems to be in the twin cam 88 engines but also found in the 96 and 103 if you have a spring loaded tensor. There have been some hydrolic tensor issues as well and there is no fix other than checking them every 30,000 miles or so. It is said the nylon pad will wear much slower if the bike runs a good synthetic oil in it. 

I will continue to research this topic and continue to update all my readers as I am very curious to get a remedy for this issue. Stay tuned for more updates! 

Thanks for reading, 

TCP

bottom of page